School Name

Nightingale Infant and Nursery School


The Early Year Curriculum

Foundation Stage

Welcome to Early Years.

We have four guiding principles that shape the good practise in our setting. These are:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

The Early Years Framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in our early years setting. All areas of learning and development are inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three prime areas are:

  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

We must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are;

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

At Nightingale Infant and Nursery School we strive to encourage "Playing and Exploring, Active learning and Creating and Thinking critically' to support children's learning across all areas.

We celebrate the incredible journey that our children make in the Early Years.

Share this page: